I just received this email on our "press" alias. Take a look and tell me what you think...
From: Jennifer [xxxx@ecyberscreen.com]
To: press@sampa.com
Subject: articles about how to create a web page for sampa.com
I'm assuming that sampa.com (Create a Website for Free) is your site.
I'm doing research for a company that will be writing an article about how to create a web page. This company is considering featuring your site in this article. If your company is selected, they would place the article on their popular, online publication.
I would need to hear from you soon if you're interested in being featured. You can either reply to this email or call 877-838-9862. Leave a message and I'll forward it to them so they can return you call.
Thanks,
Jennifer
ECyberScreen
6245 Bristol Parkway, Suite #101
Culver City, CA 90230-6983
877-838-9862
I looks like spam. They extracted key phrases from the page (or a search engine, maybe del.icio.us?), to make it look very appealing and send an email to press@[domain]. I don't know what it is, but I'm pretty sure they will charge a PR fee, or publication fee or some other scam like that.
Over the past two years I received dozens of press emails and they never look like that. Usually a reporter says that he is going to do a story about X and he is interested in knowing if what we are doing fits into that. They always, always say who they are (I can find them on the web) and which publication they work for.
Spam Status: Confirmed!
No comments:
Post a Comment